Van Alstyne named 2017 NEAC Co-Coach of the Year

Van Alstyne named 2017 NEAC Co-Coach of the Year

MORRISVILLE, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) office announced its 2017 Women's Lacrosse Coach of the Year award, as voted by conference coaches, naming Morrisville State College head coach, Kelsey (Schwan) Van Alstyne the Co-Coach of the Year.

Van Alstyne receives the award for the first time in her career, alongside Penn State Abignton's Noelle Powell, after guiding her team to an 11-5 overall record, including an 8-1 stint in conference play.

Under guidance of Van Alstyne, Morrisville State enters the tournament as the second seed for a second time in as many seasons, set to begin Saturday.

Van Alstyne, in her first season, led Morrisville State to its second NEAC title, and program's first appearance to the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament in 2015. Across three seasons, she has collected a 24-3 overall conference record, placing 20 on the All-Conference Teams, and having three earn top awards, including Defensive Player of the Year twice in senior Jordan Anderson (West Edmeston, N.Y.).

Van Alstyne led all NEAC teams in 2017 with seven All-Conference selections.

Morrisville State College's curricula are enriched with applied learning and pave the way for opportunity at both the Morrisville and Norwich campuses. An action-oriented, interactive learning lab, the college is a national leader in technology and has been lauded for its exemplary, innovative and effective community service programs.

The college was ranked among the Best Regional Colleges in the North by U.S. News and World Report Best Colleges 2016 issue and was also recognized in the Top Public Schools, Regional Colleges North in the 2016 Best Colleges rankings. For more information about Morrisville State College, visit